POPSUGAR Tech

Block Contacts From Sending Messages or Calls in iOS 7

Apr 1 2014 - 2:00pm

One of iOS 7's many little conveniences [1] is the ability to (finally!) block numbers from contacting a device. Whether it's a salesperson, frenemy, or someone you just need a digital break from for a bit, Apple's new operating system now allows users to limit the communication received from the outside world. If you have people or unknown, annoying numbers that you'd prefer not to see messages or receive phone and Facetime calls from, follow the instructions below.

Add a Contact to the Blocked List

Block someone from calling or texting you one of two ways:

Unblock a Contact

Decide an acquaintance served their time on the blocked list and want to digitally revive them? Like adding someone to the blocked list, they can be removed two ways:

Will The Contact Know They're Blocked?

Short answer: no. But a perceptive friend might notice that they can never get a hold of you. When someone in your blocked list calls, they'll be immediately sent to voicemail. Any message left in voicemail will be put in a separate folder called "Blocked Messages," to which you can listen.

If the contact tries to send you a text or iMessage, from their end, it will look like the message was sent, though you — thanks to your craftiness — will not actually have to see the message.

Take note, blocking contacts goes one way, meaning you can still call, text, or FaceTime the numbers you've listed in Blocked. So if the blocking is also to limit yourself from communication with a certain person, better go ahead and delete their number completely from your phone.

Should you continue to get unwanted phone calls from spammers or marketing companies, consider adding your number to the National Do Not Call Registry [2].


Source URL
http://www.geeksugar.com/tech/How-Block-Number-iPhone-31863584